From the GMR: NIH Announces Five New CTSAs

Congratulations to the University of Kentucky and the University of Minnesota, two of the five new CTSAs! See the official announcement below.
For some context, check out – the short video about the award at the U of M is very interesting.
The National Institutes of Health has announced five new Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSAs) to accelerate scientific discoveries into treatments for patients.
Administered by the National Center for Research Resources, these 2011 grants extend the CTSA consortium to 30 states and the District of Columbia. With these most recent awards, the NIH is funding 60 CTSA institutions. The five new institutions are the Pennsylvania State University, Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey; University of California, Los Angeles; University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City; University of Kentucky, Lexington; and University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.
The NIH news release about the 2011 awards is available at, and more information about the CTSAs and related science advances can be viewed at
In addition, NIH has awarded the Vanderbilt University Medical Center with a grant to encourage and facilitate collaboration, sharing and interaction among the CTSAs, as well as with other NIH-funded institutions and organizations. For more information after 11 a.m., view the Vanderbilt news release at


Join the Conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s